Budapest - Buda Side - Chain Bridge and Royal Palace Area

Budapest - Buda Side - Old Town and Gellert Hill

Budapest - Pest Side - Parliament

Budapest - Pest Side - Landmarks

Budapest - Pest Side - Architecture

Outside of Budapest

Prague - Old Town Square

Prague - Old Town Landmarks

Prague - Old Town Architecture

Prague - Jewish Quarter

Prague - Charles Bridge

Prague Castle

Prague - St Vitus Cathedral

Prague - St Nicholas Cathedral

Prague - From Vltava River

Prague - New Town

Prague - Art and Jewelry Shopping

Budapest and Prague Tourist Tips

  Budapest - Buda Side - Old Town and Gellert Hill  
Photo of Matyas Church, Budapest
Matyas Church

Old Town

Rebuilt after WWII, some original structures remain in the Old Town, located just north of the Royal Palace.  The Neo-Gothic Matyas Church is its focal point.
Photo of Matays Church, Budapest Photo of Matyas Church, Budapest Photo of Holy Trinity Column, Budapest

Looking out over the Danube, Fishermen's Bastion, designed in 1895, was never used for defense and serves instead as a viewing terrace.
Photo of Fishermen's Bastion, Budapest Photo of Fountain in Old Town, Budapest

Gellert Hill

Towering over the city, Liberation Monument commemorates the liberation of Budapest by the Russian army in 1945.  The liberation was also the beginning of Communist rule which lasted until 1989, and a figure of a Russian soldier was removed at that time.
Photo of Liberation Monument, Budapest Photo of Liberation Monument, Budapest Photo of Liberation Monument, Budapest

Gellert Monument is dedicated to the martyred Bishop Gellert, the patron saint of Budapest.  It marks the spot where, according to legend, he was sealed into a barrel and pushed into the Danube.  
Photo of Gellert Monument, Budapest Photo of Cave Church, Budapest Photo of Gellert Hotel, Budapest

Established in a holy grotto in 1926, Cave Church was forced to close during the Communist reign, but reopened in 1989.  The Gellert Hotel was built in the modernist Secession style early in the 20th century to exploit the natural hot springs.  Destroyed in 1945, it was rebuilt after WWII.